The Bluegrass ADD in partnership with the Clark County Fire Department is conducting a fire study for 2018-2019 that will help determine where future stations should be located, along with current and anticipated future infrastructure/personnel needs. This survey will help ascertain the knowledge local residents have regarding the fire department.

Click to take the Clark County Fire Survey


Clark County Fiscal Court Fund Committee

Community Fund Application

Welcome to Clark County Kentucky

Judge Executive Henry BranhamClark County , Kentucky was formed in 1793.  The county was created in 1792 from Bourbon and Fayette Counties and is named for Revolutionary War hero General George Rogers Clark.

Clark County , Kentucky actually began as Bourbon County , Virginia in 1785, when it was separated from Fayette County , Kentucky (previously also in Virginia ). It comprised a much larger area than the present-day Bourbon County .

Clark County ’s heritage is very rich and steeped in history.  At least nineteen pioneer stations or settlements are believed to have been established in the area.  Among these were Strode's Station (1779), near Winchester ; McGee's Station (ca. 1780), near Becknerville; Holder's Station (1781), on Lower Howard's Creek; and Boyle's Station (ca. 1785), one mile west of Strode's Station.  Among the early settlers were a group of forty Baptist families led by Capt. William Bush, who settled on Lower Howard's Creek in 1775. In 1793 the group erected the Old Stone Meeting House.

The Courthouse in Clark County , the fourth building on this site, was built in 1853 and still houses the Circuit Courtroom and Family Courtroom for the Administrative Office of the Courts.

Clark County today is a vibrant, growing community which still prides itself in rich agricultural land, residential development as well as a business and industrial center.  Located on Interstate 64 and just seven (7) miles from Interstate 75, we boast convenient access to the entire eastern United States .

Henry Branham

Clark County Judge/Executive



Magisterial Districts